sparkler (72)

she asks me if i want to see the fireworks

the ones at midnight

her and her boyfriend are going

i don’t respond

a few hours later

she tells me a few more people are going

the rapist

and the guy who said that he could use god to save me from my gayness

i don’t respond

(in literal)

there is a line it goes so straight so steady

i can’t travel with alcohol so what’s the point

after work i buy six packets of sparklers

i’ll use them for something

i fill my ears with music that pops and fizzed and makes me feel more gay

Jack Colwell and the B52s does the trick

the year is at peak critical mass

i can feel it my throat

last night i dreamt about the rapist

i shut a door

and it all floods in like

can’t i just die here

in this year

i want to occupy this space

for a little longer

darling

i rip open the sparkler boxes

i hold all 72 in my mouth at once and i don’t need a match all of me goes

LIGHT AND I BURN

LIKE A FIREWORK THAT

GETS STUCK ON THE GROUND

AND GOES OUT!OUT!OUT!

sparkler (72)

Leave a Reply

